Regulatory Update – March 1, 2011

In the March 1, 2011 federal register, EPA has made a determination that southeast Wisconsin (Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Washington, Waukesha, and Kenosha and Sheboygan Counties) attained the 8-hour ozone standard.  Note however, this is not a redesignation to attainment.  A redesignation would require additional findings, including approval of a maintenance plan.  This action however does reduce the administrative burden for the state:  As a result of these determinations, the requirements for these areas to submit attainment demonstrations and associated reasonably available control measures (RACM), reasonable further progress plans (RFP), contingency measures, and other State Implementation Plan (SIP) revisions related to attainment of the standard are suspended for as long as the areas continue to attain the 1997 8-hour ozone standard. These determinations also suspend the requirement for EPA to promulgate attainment demonstration, RFP, and any other attainment-related Federal Implementation Plans (FIPs) for these areas.  Nonattainment requirements for emission sources will continue unchanged for these areas.

[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 40 (Tuesday, March 1, 2011)]

[Rules and Regulations]  [Pages 11080-11082]

From the Federal Register Online via the Government Printing Office []  [FR Doc No: 2011-4380]